FanPost

Fresno State Second Touchdown?

Not to re-hash the game from Saturday and I may have missed some discussion on this, but I just rewatched the game paying closer attention. I'm no rules expert, but how was Fresno State's second touchdown not an ineligible receiver down field?

LOS was the 8, they had 1 lineman at the 1 and another inside the 5 before the ball was in the air.

How it started:

How it ended:

Straight from the NCAA rulebook:

No originally ineligible receiver shall be or have been more than three yards beyond the neutral zone until a passer throws a legal forward pass that crosses the neutral zone. A player is in violation of this rule if any part of his body is beyond the three-yard limit.

The penalty for an ineligible man downfield is that the offensive moves back five yards from the previous spot, with the down repeated.

I know NCAA is lenient with downfield blocking, but this doesn't seem remotely close and was an egregiously missed call.

Items in the FanPosts are entirely at the discretion of those that post them. They do not represent the views of Hammer & Rails, SBNation, or Purdue University in any way.