clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2020 Indiana High School Basketball State Tournament: Sectional Championship Scores

Caleb Furst is a sectional chanmpion, as is Crothersville for the first time in 105 years.

With the 2019-20 Purdue season in its death throes going to the NIT we turn to the future. Tonight all 64 sectional champions were crowned in Indiana, with some interesting notes across the games:


East Chicago Central

Merrillville 45, Lake Central 42


Valparaiso 53, Chesterton 52

A bit of an upset and some revenge here. Last season Chesterton upset Brandon Newman and Valparaiso. This year Valpo takes down 23-2 Chesterton who was in the top 10.


Culver Academy 44, South Bend Adams 43

Indiana signee Trey Galloway moves on to the regional with Culver.


Northridge 60, Warsaw 38

Carroll (Fort Wayne)

Fort Wayne Snider 59, Fort Wayne Northrop 56

Huntington North

New Haven 46, Homestead 44

Mild upset here as Luke Goode, a 2021 guard Purdue is looking at goes down.

Lafayette Jeff

Marion 63, Harrison (West Lafayette) 62

JK Thomas exploded for Marion in a furious comeback. 35 points, 32 in the second half, 21 in the fourth quarter.


Carmel 54, Westfield 41

The defending champs stay alive and deny Westfield their first ever title. They have played in every sectional since 1918 and have never won, by far the largest school in the state without a sectional crown. Brian Waddell, son of former Boiler Matt Waddell, had 26 for Carmel.

Muncie Central

New Palestine 54, Muncie Central 53

Lawrence Central

Lawrence North 61, Warren Central 59

No. 2 Lawrence North wins the state’s toughest sectional.


Pike 62, Decatur Central 60 OT


Brownsburg 52, Plainfield 47

Pierce Thomas (a Butler recruit) helps a really good Brownsburg team move on.


Greenwood 43, Center Grove 30 First sectional title since 2002 for Greenwood.

Columbus North

Bloomington South 74, East Central 48

The state’s No. 1 ranked and undefeated team moves on with a sixth straight sectional behind Indiana signee Anthony Leal.


Floyd Central 70, Jennings County 33

Floyd Central breaks a 31-year sectional drought since the days of Pat Graham, when they lost in the 1989 state finals to my beloved Kokomo Wildkats.

Evansville North

Evansville Reitz 69, Castle 61

5-star Indiana commit Khristian Lander wins a sectional.



Hammond 70, Calumet 46

Hanover Central

Hanover Central 61, New Prairie 47


Mishawaka Marian 46, Jimtown 23

No Jaden Ivey, no problem for Mishawaka Marian.

Twin Lakes

Western 51, West Lafayette 42

Not sure if Yanni Karlaftis was playing basketball this year, but he is a high priority target for Jeff Brohm at West Lafayette.


NorthWood 49, Wawasee 32


Leo 51, Fort Wayne Concordia 47


Norwell 46, Mississinewa 43

Mississinewa just misses out on winning its first sectional since 1953.

New Castle

Delta 42, Hamilton Heights 41


Danville 59, North Montgomery 47


Brownstown Central 46, Edgewood 45

Indianapolis Shortridge

Brebeuf Jesuit 49, Lebanon 41

Indian Creek

Beech Grove 72, Indian Creek 59


Greensburg 67, South Dearborn 49

Corydon Central

Silver Creek 70, Madison 53

No problems at all for defending 3A champion Silver Creek and Trey Kaufman.

Vincennes Lincoln

Washington 69, Sullivan 60


Heritage Hills 79, Evansville Memorial 53


Bowman Academy

Bowman Academy 65, Gary Roosevelt 53

North Judson

LaVille 52, South Central (Union Mills) 41


Churubusco 54, Central Noble 49


Fort Wayne Blackhawk 76, Fort Wayne Canterbury 54

I couldn’t find any states on Caleb Furst, but his team rolls to a sectional championship in 2A. Remember, they are playing up in class this year.


Rochester 60, Rensselaer Central 52 2OT

Western Boone

Rossville 47, Western Boone 45


Blackford 70, Tipton 53

Luke Brown gets another game to add to his scoring assault on Damon Bailey’s record. He entered the night with 2,035 points and had 14 at halftime from what I can find. The state record is Damon Bailey at 3,134 and the single season record is 1,079 by Dave Shepherd in 29 games, so we’re approaching the orbit of Brown having a shot going into his senior year next year. This was Blackford’s first sectional title in 29 years and they will be favored in their regional opener next week against Rochester, so he should be able to add at least two more games to his total this year. Depending on where he finished tonight and what he gets next week he may need less than 1,000 points to do it, and there have been five 1,000-point single seasons in Indiana.


Wapahani 46, Frankton 43


Shenandoah 54, Northeastern 42

Shenandoah is the No. 1 team in 2A, just ahead of Caleb Furst’s FW Blackhawk.

Indianapolis Scecina

Covenant Christian 54, Park Tudor 45


Parke Heritage 61, North Putnam 49

Officially, Parke Heritage wins its first ever sectional, but it is a new consolidation of former schools Rockville and Turkey Run.

North Decatur

South Decatur 82, North Decatur 65

Southwestern (Hanover)

Providence 87, Southwestern (Hanover) 66

Crawford County

Crawford County 36 Paoli 34

North Knox

Linton-Stockton 48 South Knox 45


South Spencer 56, North Posey 55 OT

Bad beat for North Posey, who just misses its first sectional title since 1966.



Gary 21st Century 84, Kouts 68


Argos 28, Triton 26


Elkhart Christian 61, Lakewood Park 52


Caston 44, Pioneer 40

Southern Wells

Southwood 78 Lakeland Christian 25


Covington 68, Clinton Central 39


Cowan 57, Daleville 22

Cowan wins its second sectional ever and first since 1976.

Blue River

Blue River 55, Randolph Southern 43

White River Valley

Bloomfield 41, White River Valley 22

Bethesda Christian

Indianapolis International 69, Indianapolis Metropolitan 65

The tiny Indianapolis International School on Michigan road wins its first ever sectional.

Indianapolis Lutheran

Greenwood Christian 57, Providence Cristo Rey 42

Southwestern (Shelbyville)

Oldenburg Academy 54, Morristown 46


Christian Academy 44, Lanesville 42


Crothersville 57, West Washington 51

While Westfield did not get it done, Crothersville finally did. They have played in the tournament since 1916 and FINALLY got their first ever sectional championship.


Barr-Reeve 41, Shoals 27

Springs Valley

Northeast Dubois 55, Evansville Day 51