clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Isaiah Thompson & Brandon Newman Named Indiana All-Stars

Mason Gillis and Jake LaRavia also get a mention.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

The Indiana All-Star team is one of the greatest honors you can get as a player in this state. Eric Hunter Jr., Ryan Cline, and Sasha Stefanovic were all members of the Indiana All-Star team at one time before coming to Purdue, and even though Cline is gone, Purdue is adding at least three more Indiana All-Stars this fall.

Brandon Newman and Isaiah Thompson were both named to the All-Star team this afternoon after excellent senior seasons. Newman averaged 27.2 points, 8.8 rebounds, and 2.5 steals this season for Valparaiso. He broke Valpo’s career scoring record too by finishing with 1,577 points. Thompson averaged 22.9 points, 3.4 assists, and 2,6 rebounds per game as Zionsville won its fourth straight conference title and second straight sectional. He finished 27th all-time in state scoring with 2,139 career points, tied with Rick Mount’s son Rich Mount.

In addition to those two Mason Gillis, Purdue’s third signee for 2019, was named as an honorary All-Star. He was a member of the junior All-Stars last summer and averaged 21.6 points per game as a junior, but missed all of this past season with a knee injury. Jake LaRavia, a 6’8” forward who has recently gotten on Purdue’s radar, was named to the team as well. LaRavia averaged 17.3 points, 6.8 rebounds, and 3.9 assists for a Lawrence Central team that went 22-4 and entered the state tournament ranked second, but was upset in the second round by Ben Davis.

Here is the entire team with the schools they will play for next year:

Cobie Barnes - Floyd Central - Indiana State Sycamores

Jesse Bingham - Warren Central - University of Indianapolis

Ethan Brittain-Watts - Culver Academy - Boston University Terriers

Luke Bumbalough - New Castle - Ball State Cardinals

Armaan Franklin - Cathedral - Indiana Hoosiers

Alex Hemenway - Castle - Clemson Tigers

Trayce Jackson-Davis - Center Grove - Indiana Hoosiers

Dawand Jones - Ben Davis - Ohio St. Buckeyes (football)

Jake LaRavia - Lawrence Central - Uncommitted

John Michael-Malloy - Carmel - Butler Bulldogs

Brandon Newman - Valparaiso - Purdue Boilermakers

Isaiah Thompson - Zionsville - Purdue Boilermakers

Jalen Windham - Ben Davis - Uncommitted

Ali Ali (honorary member) - East Noble - Akron Zips

Mason Gillis (honorary member) - New Castle - Purdue Boilermakers