clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Caleb Swanigan Screwed Over for Karl Malone Award

We. Are. Outraged.

NCAA Basketball: NCAA Tournament-Midwest Regional-Purdue vs Kansas Jay Biggerstaff-USA TODAY Sports

Tonight a grave injustice occurred.

At the College Basketball Awards Show tonight on ESPN2 our own Caleb Swanigan was up for the Karl Malone Award given to the nation’s best power forward and the Wooden Award for the nation’s best player.

He won neither.

Now the Wooden Award was exepcted. That went to Frank Mason III of Kansas, who won all of the other National Player of the Year awards. The Karl Malone Award was a massive shock, as it went to Johnathan Motley of Baylor.

Sadly, I am not kidding.

The reaction aroudn the internet was stunning, as this was a massive upset for Motley. It was generally accepted that Swanigan, the consensus All-American at power forward, was going to win the Karl Malone Award. We weren’t the only ones stunned.

So there you have it. I haven’t seen this much of a travesty since Golden State drafted Damian Jones over A.J. Hammons in the draft even though Hammons ripped Jones to shreds in Mackey Arena head-to-head.