clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Purdue Athletes Receive B1G Distinguished Scholar Awards

Purdue is already a difficult school, being a student-athlete is also difficult. You deserve recognition for your successes on and off the field and in the classroom.

Robert Kugler was one of the many Boilermakers to earn this award
Robert Kugler was one of the many Boilermakers to earn this award

Earlier today, the Big Ten Conferences announced the student-athletes at each school that earned the Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award. According to the press release, students must record a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher in the previous academic year (2014-15).

Overall, 781 students earned the award, with 119 earning a perfect 4.0. Over 60 athletes from Purdue won the award, with 9 of them earning a perfect 4.0 GPA, and we will list their names, major, and sports below (bold names = 4.0 GPA). Congrats to all these Boilermakers for their success in the classroom, as well as in their respective sports.

  • Gavin Downs, Agricultural & Biological Engineering
  • Brandon Krieg, Organizational Leadership & Supervision
  • Jordan Lewis, Mechanical Engineering
  • Connor Podkul, Selling & Sales Management
Men's Basketball
  • Jon McKeeman, Movement & Sport Sciences
Women's Basketball
  • Hayden Hamby, Health Science Preprofessional
Men's Cross Country/Track & Field
  • Chris Arvia, Actuarial Science/Applied Statistics
  • Patrick Dalton, Finance/Management
  • Matthew McClintock, Movement & Sport Sciences
  • Caleb Reiff, Applied Exercise & Health
Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
  • Megan Broecker, Movement & Sport Sciences
  • Sharise Lund, Industrial Engineering
  • Laura Maibuecher, Corporate Communication
  • Maria Paolillo, Apparel Design & Technology
  • Hope Schmelzle, Nursing
  • Twyla Winfrey, Manufacturing Engineering Technology
  • Danny Etling, PR & Strategic Communication
  • Evan Feichter, Health Science Preprofessional
  • Jimmy Herman, Industrial Engineering
  • Robert Kugler, Political Science
  • John Strauser, Organizational Leadership & Supervision
Men's Golf
  • Ben-Marvin Egel, Management
  • Philippe Schweizer, Economics
Women's Golf
  • Anna Appert Lund, Organizational Leadership & Supervision
  • Johanna Tillstrom, Economics
Women's Soccer
  • Alex Hairston, Brain & Behavioral Science
  • Megan Kaser, Health Science Preprofessional
  • Kim Love, Health Science Preprofessional
  • Christa Szalach, PR & Strategic Communication
  • Paris Andrew, Elementary Education
  • Lilly Fecho, Mathematics
  • Mary Gooding, Organizational Leadership & Supervision
  • Alyssa Koorsen, Applied Exercise & Health
  • Alex Whittemore, Communication
Men's Swimming & Diving
  • Evan Barta, Industrial Engineering
  • Jamie Bissett, Health Science Preprofessional
  • Josh Brooks, Electrical Engineering
  • Ted Curtiss, Materials Science & Engineering
  • Manuel Gutierrez, Electrical Engineering
  • Bo Ilgenfritz, Aeronautical & Astronautical Engineering
  • Sean Mokhtari, Building Construction Management
  • Jan Petric, Movement & Sport Sciences
  • Alex Toetz, Movement & Sport Sciences
Women's Swimming & Diving
  • Stevie Bauer, Animal Sciences
  • Allie Davis, Law & Society
  • Lew Gerbrandt, Interior Design
  • Grace Hernandez, Health & Disease
  • Rylee Klomp, Organizational Leadership & Supervision
  • Anji Li, Actuarial Science/Applied Statistics
  • Lizzy Lyon, Interior Design
  • Carly Marshall, Neurobiology & Physiology
  • Madison Monteiro, Marketing
  • Nika Petric, Interior Design
  • Leah Ritsema, Organizational Leadership & Supervision
  • Rhiannon Sheets, Movement & Sport Sciences
  • MacKenzie Tweardy, Biomedical Engineering
Men's Tennis
  • Matt Bouggy, Management
  • Lucas Dages, Finance
Women's Tennis
  • Claudia Escribens, Industrial Engineering
  • Lynda Xepoleas, Apparel Design & Technology
Women's Volleyball
  • Ashley Evans, Mechanical Engineering
  • Andy Hoselton, Movement & Sport Sciences
  • Dustin Schultz, Mechanical Engineering