clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 Big Ten Media Days: Players to Watch

No surprise, but Purdue is lacking on the "players to watch" list.

Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

The Big Ten officially announced its players to watch this morning as the favorites for Player of the Year honors. No, it is not "the entire Ohio State roster". There are players from other teams on there too.

Just none from Purdue.

Michigan State and Ohio State each had a pair of players represent the East Division. Spartans defensive end Shilique Calhoun and quarterback Connor Cook were honored, alongside Buckeyes defensive end Joey Bosa and running back Ezekiel Elliott. Penn State defensive tackle Anthony Zettel completed the East Division honorees. Calhoun was named to the Big Ten Football Players to Watch list for the second consecutive season.

Nebraska and Wisconsin placed two standouts each on the West Division Players to Watch list. Huskers defensive tackle Maliek Collins and wide receiver De’Mornay Pierson-El were joined on the list by Badgers safety Michael Caputo and running back Corey Clement. Iowa defensive end Drew Ott and Northwestern running back Justin Jackson round out the division’s honorees.

Elliott was named to the Players to Watch list after claiming the Sullivan Award last season, given to the most outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. Bosa was tabbed a consensus first-team All-American last year, while Calhoun, Caputo and Pierson-El also claimed All-America laurels.

The Players to Watch list includes the reigning Big Ten Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player and Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year in Bosa, while Calhoun was tabbed the 2013 Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year. Bosa, Calhoun and Zettel were first-team All-Big Ten honorees last year, and Caputo, Collins, Cook and Ott were second-team selections.

The complete list of Big Ten football preseason Players to Watch appears below:

Connor Cook, QB, Michigan State
Shilique Calhoun, DE, Michigan State
Joey Bosa, DE, Ohio State
Ezekiel Elliott, RB, Ohio State
Anthony Zettel, DT, Penn State

Drew Ott, DE, Iowa
Maliek Collins, DT, Nebraska
De’Mornay Pierson-El, WR, Nebraska
Justin Jackson, RB, Northwestern
Michael Caputo, S, Wisconsin
Corey Clement, RB, Wisconsin

*Additional honoree due to tie