clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Caleb Swanigan Named To Karl Malone Watch List

The award goes to the nation's top power forward.

Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

Contrary to the notion that Caled Swanigan is a center according to every national writer that knows nothing of Purdue basketball, he is a power forward, and a damn good one. He is such a good one that he was named to the Karl Malone Award watch list, which goes to the nation's top power forward.

A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates. Last season, Montrezl Harrell of Louisville was named the inaugural winner of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2016 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame's selection committee.  The winner of the 2016 Karl Malone Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy's from Club Nokia in Los Angeles, California, on Friday, April 8, 2016. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

The lone Big Ten player named to the list, the 6-foot-9, 250-pound freshman from Fort Wayne, Indiana, was a 2015 McDonald's All-American and the recipient of last year's Indiana Mr. Basketball. Ranked as the No. 9 recruit by, Swanigan led Homestead High School to its first state title after averaging 22.6 PPG and 13.7 RPG. He set school records for career points (1,649), career rebounds (1,048) and was second in career blocks (106) and assists (204).

So congrats to Caleb!

Here is the full list:

2016 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates

Rico Gathers, Baylor

Taurean Prince, Baylor

Ivan Rabb, California

Tony Parker, UCLA

Dorian Finney-Smith, Florida

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Perry Ellis, Kansas

Shawn Long, Louisiana-Lafayette

Henry Ellenson, Marquette

Shaq Goodwin, Memphis

Brice Johnson, North Carolina

Beejay Anya, North Carolina State

Ryan Spangler, Oklahoma

Caleb Swanigan, Purdue

Markus Kennedy, SMU

Jameel Warney, Stony Brook

Jordan Loveridge, Utah

Alec Peters, Valporasio

Anton Grady, Wichita State