clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Stu Schweigert and Natalia Bogdonova Host Golden Pete Awards

The annual intra-department awards were handed out last night at Purdue.

Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

Last night at Loeb Playhouse in the Stewart Center was the second annual Golden Pete Awards. The awards are held now annually within the athletic department t recognize teams and players across all sports. The event was hosted by former football player Stu Schweigert and former women's basketball player Natalia Bogdonova and was a very lighthearted affair.

The highlights of the evening were the Big Ten Medal of Honor awards for each gender. This is the 100th year of the award and it goes to the top male and female athletes at the University. Past award winners have been John Wooden, Robbie Hummel, David Boudia, and Drew Brees.

This year's male winner was Matt Friede, a swimmer who has qualified three times for the NCAA Championships and will leave Purdue as one of its most decorated swimmers. The female award winner was diver Casey Matthews, who was a national champion on the three-meter in 2013.

Here are some of your other winners:

Breakout of the Year - Raheem Mostert - Indoor Track - The football running back was the Big Ten champion in the 60-meters and qualified for the national indoor meet.

Spark Plug Award - Carly Cramer - Volleyball - Cramer won the award for the athlete that ignites their team as the starting libero on the Elite 8 volleyball team.

Varsity Walk Award - Courtney Moses - Women's Basketball - This award goes to a senior athlete that brings national recognition to Purdue.

Coach of the Year - Lonnie Green - Track and Field - The track and field program has improved greatly after being near the bottom of the Big Ten last season.

Comeback of the Year - Women's basketball vs. Iowa - Purdue overcame a 16-point deficit for a regular season win.

Individual Performance, Single event - Dani Bunch - Bunch finish third in the shot put and fifth in the hammer throw at the NCAA championships.

Individual Performance, Season - Courtney Moses - Women's Basketball

Team performance, single event - Women's Volleyball - won for upsetting undefeated Missouri in the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

Team Performance, Season - Men's and Women's Track and Field