clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bryson Scott, Basil Smotherman Named Indiana All-Stars

New, 25 comments

The 2013 Indiana All-Star team has been announced and Purdue has two members on it.

After scoring more than 2,000 points in his career and finishing as one of the top 40 scorers all-time in the history of Indiana High School Basketball it was more of a surprise that Bryson Scott did not win Mr. Basketball. that honor went to Hamilton Southeastern's Zak Irvin, but Bryson did make the prestigious Indiana All-Star team that will play the junior All-stars, then the Kentucky All-Stars in June.

Also making the 13-member squad (only seniors are eligible) was Basil Smotherman of Lawrence North. Smotherman was a bit of a surprise as he did not make the junior all-stars last season. That ended up being motivation for him:

“It means a lot,” he said. “That was one of my goals going into the season, along with being a good team player and working on the things I needed to do to get ready (for playing at) Purdue.”

Here is the full list, including where each player is committed to play in college next year:

Zak Irvin - Hamilton Southeastern - Michigan (Mr. Basketball)

Bryson Scott - Fort Wayne Northrop - Purdue

Basil Smotherman - Lawrence North - Purdue

Collin Hartman - Cathedral - Indiana

Devin Davis - Warren Central - Indiana

V.J. Beachem - New Haven - Notre Dame

Clay Yeo - Triton - Valparaiso

Mike Crawford - Tipton - St. Louis

Blake Simmons - Castle - Evansville (His dad, Marty Simmons, is head coach at Evansville)

Darius Latham - North Central - Indiana (Football)

Michael Schlotman - Munster - William & Mary

Demetrius Jackson - Mishawaka Marian - Notre Dame

Michael Volovic - Carmel - Butler (walk-on)