clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cody Webster, Ricardo Allen Make All-Big Ten Teams

A pair of Purdue players received all-Big Ten honors on Monday.

Joe Robbins

Not many players from Purdue were recognized in a season were the Boilers went 1-11, but in tonight's conference awards show Purdue was not entirely shut out. A few Boilermakers were able to take home conference-wide honors and they were as follows:

Ricardo Allen - After six interceptions Allen was a Second Team all-Big Ten selection as a cornerback by the media. Michigan State's excellent defense took most of the First Team slots, as six defensive backs were chosen by the coaches due to ties. Allen was the only honorable mention player from Purdue by the media, meaning he was the only player to receive a vote from the coaches.

Cody Webster - Webster was the First Team all-Big Ten punter by both the coaches and media and he was also named as the Edelman-Fields Punter of the Year. He tied for the coaches' first team with Mike Sadler of Michigan State and beat him outright for the media First Team.

Rob Henry - The third and final Purdue player receiving any honors was Henry,who was Purdue's recipient of the sportsmanship award. The senior did not have a great final year, but was the perfect teammate willing to do anything to help the team win.

Finally, Drew Brees was awarded the Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award, mostly because he is an excellent human being.