FanShot

Notre Dame benefits from officiating gaffe again

Turns out on the Pitt missed field goal in the second OT Notre Dame had two players on the field with the same jersey number. By rule it should have been a five yard penalty. This would have gave the ball back to Pitt with a 1st and 10 at the 11 and still only needing a field goal. Pitt either runs it in or at least centers it for a glorified extra point and Notre Dame is likely in a world of hurt. So now we have officiating blunders help give Notre Dame wins in three games (Pitt, Stanford, Purdue), which happens to be a third of their wins. Luck of the Irish?

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Hammer and Rails

You must be a member of Hammer and Rails to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Hammer and Rails. You should read them.

Join Hammer and Rails

You must be a member of Hammer and Rails to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Hammer and Rails. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker